A few qeustions to handling RPM Files

• Asizez
  • Born
  • Born
  • Asizez

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey there.
Im new to the Unix World and I hope theres someone here who would like to help me with few small questions so I can start using Linux for real. "no Worries, its not how to dl and install a Linux OS :P or somethink like it", however its about installing on Linux =/.

Im using Linux SUSE 10.0

The RPMs :? Well I figured out how to execute some kind of files, but I got no idear how it installs or even how it figure out a registery setup in Linux, or how it combines the setup with each others :/ I cant fine any logic in it but sometimes it works and other times it doessent. RPM? -qlp? sh? A bit lost how to handle this commands correct and is there more of them? :?

When I ie. did try install skype linux version, I did try type "rpm -qlp path/skype_install.rpm" and it executed and I found the skype in the /usr/share/applications/skype...
But when I ie. try to install other kind of installs like ie Wine I cant get it to work. I belive the RPM file is correct and im quite sure im doing somethink totally wrong when installing on Linux.

I do like to get a clear hand on how to install and not using age to get somethink to work, it would really help me out getting started on Linux :D Allthough I do like to get the game World of Warcraft working on Linux, thats the only reason I need Wine. I've seen some screenshots of people getting it to work but never how they did it :cry:
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

why dont you use yast to install what you need? and doesn't wine come installed by default with suse? it did for me. also - have you added installation sources to yast? it really helps for installing new software / updating what you have. look here for this.