Format ubuntu

• Wiper
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Wiper
  • Loc: Norway, Oslo

Post 3+ Months Ago

This is probably a newbie question but I just dont know how to simply because I've never done these things before. now, to my question:

How do I format my hard drive with ubuntu?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

do you mean that you want to format your hard drive which has ubuntu on it? or you want to format your hard drive and put ubuntu on it? or that you have ubuntu installed on one hard drive and you want to use it to format another hard drive?
  • Wiper
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Wiper

Post 3+ Months Ago

Oh, sorry if I was unclear. I want to format a hard drive I have ubuntu on. I want to delete ubuntu...
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

you could go to http://www.bootdisk.com and download / create a windows 98 bootdisk, and then boot from the floppy and use that to format the hard drive. but that would format the drive and set it up with the FAT filesystem. or you could try a utility on this page: http://www.thefreecountry.org/security/ ... lete.shtml such as "Darik's Boot and Nuke"
what do you plan to use the hard drive for?
  • Wiper
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Wiper

Post 3+ Months Ago

Im gonna install win 98 on it...
  • Enjoi_Panda_Man
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Enjoi_Panda_Man
  • Loc: TX

Post 3+ Months Ago

yeah the fdisk on the 98 boot floppy should be able to do it. it wont recognize the partition but it will acknowledge it therefore letting you delete it and creating a FAT for 98.
At least in theory since ive never tried installing 98 on a linux HD (never will) but this was the case with xp. dont see why this would differ.
  • kyroskata
  • kyroskata

Post 3+ Months Ago