Going to try linux again

• Ishii
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Ishii
  • Loc: Gilbert, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok so I had a (somewhat) working copy of Mandrake linux about 8 months ago, then I had to pull the hard drive because I needed more HD space on my video machine. I'm now ready to install linux again, but being a bit of a newbie at it, I wanted to run a few things by you all first.

I plan on using this machine as a firewall/router, but also as a teamspeak server, and possibly some file hosting for other people to download. Is mandrake the best option for this or is there another flavor that might be better suited? Keep in mind that I'm relatively new to linux.

2nd question. I'm planning on building a media storage computer. I will be storing massive amounts of mp3s (all legal btw, I own a TON of cds), probably in the 100gb+ range. I also would like to use this computer as a Tivo style recording device. I know this is possible because I've seen it done, but I lack the knowledge of what program I need. And again, would mandrake be best for this application?

My goal is to be 100% legal, and not pay for any software, so anything suggested needs to be open source/freeware. Thanks for your help in advance.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• placid psychosis
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Warsaw, IN

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, I can give insight on the media thing. 100GB is not a lot of space when you deal with music and video. My media server is at around 80% capacity with 4 250GB drives dedicated to media storage. Then again, I ripped every DVD and CD I own, and use MoviX terminals and freevo.

For some good advice/tips/info on building a Linux PVR, take a look at the freevo project. http://freevo.sourceforge.net/