Granting External Access On Dedicated Testing Server

• shibbyy05
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • shibbyy05
  • Loc: Ohio

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am attempting to allow external viewing access for a testing environment that our previous server administrator (No longer working for us) set up. The issue is that we need the client to view the site but it is only viewable internally on the network. I have really limited information on the server environment other then I know the operating system is CentOs and he used VMWare to deploy the server. I have SSH access but have limited knowledge on this since I am a front end developer. If you can't help out fully then just pointing me in the right direction would be so very much appreciated!

Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am not certain I fully understand your situation, but I'll take a stab at it.

You have a server, that has an internal IP Address (192.168.something.something, or 10.something.something.something) and you want people outside your internal network to be able to see it?

Easiest way would be to set up a NAT or a proxy. Presuming you have an external site you could set up a NAT from your external IP to your internal IP on an off port, like 8080. So from ExternalIP:8080 -> InternalIP:80. A proxy is set up the same way; you simply proxy any request to your external IP on a specific port, to your internal IP on port 80.
  • shibbyy05
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • shibbyy05
  • Loc: Ohio

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm not a Server Administrator guy so I may not be explaining myself properly enough for anyone to understand but thanks for your help it is much appreciated.