GTK+ 2.6.0 install "C compiler cannot create execuables"

  • Code_alchemist
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Code_alchemist
  • Posts: 43
  • Loc: Manchester

Post 3+ Months Ago

Right, theres a utility i want to run that uses GTK+ 2.6.0 or later.

Im trying to instal GTK+ 2.6.0.

I get as far as $ sudo ./configure

and at the end of the confire sequencei get the "C compiler cannot create execuables" error.

Why is this happening and how do i fix it?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

"C compiler cannot create executables"

Search Google for that. There are a million hits.
  • Code_alchemist
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Code_alchemist
  • Posts: 43
  • Loc: Manchester

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am.... but the whole point on asking on the forum is for a more detailed and trustworthy answer.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

OK.
  • kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 3318
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago

Google is good, but my guess would be that if you look up through all the stuff that scrolls by fast you might see stuff saying that there are missing dependancies. You're on ubuntu right? Can't you do an apt install blahblah or whatever that is for ubuntu? (I'm a fedora/slackware person, not a fan of ubuntu)
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6245
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm inclined to agree with kc0tma. Although you haven't given us any indication of what distro you're using, I'm going to assume you're using something like Ubuntu.

The bottom line is, unless you have some extraordinary reason to do so, you shouldn't be compiling common software from source on a package-based distro. Use the package manager to find and install it.
  • Code_alchemist
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Code_alchemist
  • Posts: 43
  • Loc: Manchester

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes im using ubuntu sorry for not making it clear lol

and package? where do i get that i cant find one and there are always missing dependancies...
  • kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 3318
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago

There are repositories of software packages managed by different people out there, so when you type apt ... it checks the different servers out on the internet for whatever software package you are wanting. These repos are usually preconfigured when you install the operating system, or you can modify them afterwards. I'm not sure how that works in ubuntu, but in fedora and redhat it is pretty easy to add and remove repositories.

edit: When you type your apt... it will check to make sure that you have all the necessary dependencies, and if not it will ask if you want them installed as well.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 8 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.