HELP - Installed Ubuntu over Vista

• kanexpo2
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • kanexpo2

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello,

I had Vista as my main Operating System but since it was giving me problems i thought of installing Ubuntu as a dual boot option. I entered the burned CD and followed the instructions and after a few minutes Ubuntu was installed. Now i was thinking, "not bad OS, let me just fetch my files from Vista and then delete it for good" but to my surprise, Vista was no where to be found.

It seems like my Files which i needed where gone. But one thing which i found strange was that Ubuntu had a total space capacity of just 2.4 GB, where did the remaining 197GB get lost ? Was Vista really deleted for good?

I am not very tech savvy so please pardon me if i don't seem to know what i am talking about.

Anyway, out of this whole Mess i aim to achieve these goals.

1.) Get my files from Vista and save them on my external HD.
2.) Delete Vista & Format the whole C:/ Drive
3.) Install Ubuntu and allocate the whole new fresh drive to it.

If we for any reasons cannot get any files back from Vista then of course, it saddens me but nonetheless I would like to continue in that case with step 2 & 3.

Thanks for any helping hand offered.

Nick
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Your first mistake was that you didn't partition the drive. You expected Ubuntu to do it for you. Your second mistake was that you didn't backup your files before you attempted the install. If it makes you feel any better, you're not the first to make that mistake. I came close to doing that once when I was trying to install FreeBSD 2.2.1 about 10 years ago. It's up to 7.0 which I've been running on a separate machine. It's always better to have a separate machine if possible.