help! need a better way to configure my Modem

  • underpressure
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 79
  • Loc: Guyana

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have an Actiontec EX560LKU USB / Serial modem. Ubuntu does not auto detect the modem but I was able to get it to work following the instructions from this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=220173

using "dmesg | grep USB" I was able to locate the modem at USB0

and using "ln -sf /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/modem" I was able to substitute the port just like the author of that thread.

problem is I have to substitute the port every time I boot up. Is there a command I can use to permanently configure my modem or under properties under networking that my modem is locates at USB0?

or how about adding USB0 as a selection the the properties of the modem where you can select dev/modem, ttys0 and so on
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Since you already created the symbolic link, you maybe able to mount the modem at boot time by adding a line to /etc/fstab

Read the man page to be sure since a bad entry can kill the boot process completely. I found out the hard way.
  • underpressure
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 79
  • Loc: Guyana

Post 3+ Months Ago

do you know anyway of making USB0 a selectable port under system>administration>networking>modem propertise>modem port?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I use FreeBSD so I don't see those choices. The device has to be mounted for it to work. Either you can mount it by editing /etc/fstab the way I said or you can mount it at the command prompt using the mount command after you boot. I don't know of any other way.
  • underpressure
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 79
  • Loc: Guyana

Post 3+ Months Ago

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda2 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/hda1 /media/hda1 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
/dev/hda5 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0

what am I supposed to add?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You add the device that you linked.
/dev/usb0 /modem or whatever the mount point was.
  • underpressure
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 79
  • Loc: Guyana

Post 3+ Months Ago

for the sake or clarity (and ability to boot afterwards)

add

/dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/modem

?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4923
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Before you add it to /etc/fstab try the mount command and see if it connects first. Your symbolic link looks a little strange to me since I usually create a mount point and then link the device. You have two devices linked together. I have a directory /mnt and then I would run
mkdir modem
then ln -s /dev/ttyusb0 /mnt/modem
mount -t ufs /dev/ttyusb0 /mnt/modem
That should connect it. If it does you could add that to /etc/fstab However, as you said about not damaging the boot process, I would probably do it by hand with the mount commmand everytime.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

Don2007 wrote:
Before you add it to /etc/fstab try the mount command and see if it connects first. Your symbolic link looks a little strange to me since I usually create a mount point and then link the device. You have two devices linked together. I have a directory /mnt and then I would run
mkdir modem
then ln -s /dev/ttyusb0 /mnt/modem
mount -t ufs /dev/ttyusb0 /mnt/modem
That should connect it. If it does you could add that to /etc/fstab However, as you said about not damaging the boot process, I would probably do it by hand with the mount commmand everytime.

either that or add
/dev/ttyusb0 /mnt/modem ufs defaults 0 0
to /etc/fstab
or add the mount command to ~/.bashrc
(~/.bashrc is a file that gets executed every time u login. search google for more info)

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 9 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.