Help with Redhat Linux 9.0!

• phAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Loc: Iñ§Idè yºúr mIñÐ

Post 3+ Months Ago

I just got my first linux and im installing it on my old comp (I have windows XP on this one) And I get through the installation and when i put in disk 2 it says there was an error this may be caused by memory hardware media etc.. but when I installed the text version it worked just fine its just i am new to linux (never used it) and i get in by typing

Root
pass

then i am at the screen and dont know what to do so i try to install graphical again and get the same problem as before, it says memory needed: 128 and I have 111 i think, and I cant install it on this comp because my family uses it. I dont exactly have enough money to get a new comp but i do have $80. Any suggestions? Maybe I should buy more RAM for it to work? (Could probably get up to recommended 192)

Oh yeah donations are welcome :D
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't know how you got 111 mb of ram, but who know!

Have you tried XF86config? or startX? That will take you to the x windows manager if your graphics card is working.
  • phAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

I dont know how I got it either but thats what it says
anyway I think i know that it is a memory problem..
  • phAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

also now that it aborted the install It doesnt load windows all it does is load dos with a blinking

_

and you cant really do anything but i guess I will try
  • phAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

well i talked in mIRC to those guys in #redhat and they said the disk could be bad, so i am testing media right now
  • phAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

well that wasnt it so trying

Linux ide=nodna
  • phAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  • Novice