How do i access root command line to...

• elektros75
  • elektros75
  • Loc: wash dc, it's dirty

Post 3+ Months Ago

a few questions:

i'm new to linux, but can get around operating systems pretty decently, though i am a NOOB, please help

1] i'm trying to access a hard drive, external, but it says that the hard drive is not accessible as it was not closed out properly, unfortunately, i'm away from home and i just installed ubuntu in my acer 4420 laptop

i was told by the laptop's message that i could forcibly open the external hard drive, but was unable to do so as it (the terminal opened from my applications>accessories menu) said it was something that the root terminal needed to do (?????)

i'm trying to savage my data from the windows partition, as i screwed up and when trying to remove fedora 11, i accidentally messed my mbr and windows is no longer recognized/and neither is it's partition on startup

so i installed ubuntu 8.10 and can see the hard drives and access the files

2] is there a way to repair the windows master boot record via linux?

3] if all else fails i'd like to reinstall windows 7, but i need to reformat those partitions once i've salvaged my data, is it possible to install windows after linux? and how do i reformat the windows partitions that are invisible to windows programs (partition magic bootable disc) so that i can access the partitions for windows installation?

as i said i'm new, but have been curious about linux of rquite some time, this isnt the first time i've installed linux, or windows for that matter, however it's the first time i'll install windows after linux is already installed

thank you

patrick
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Clarify a few things first. Are you saying that all the files have been salvaged since you installed the latest Ubuntu?

On what machine or drive is the damaged MBR?