inactive memory

  • vijayan
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • vijayan
  • Posts: 52
  • Loc: india

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello every body,

I am vijayan javascript:emoticon(':?')
Confused

I have one dought.
When i put vmstat command i seen inactive memory. See the image.

[root@ssquid ~]# vmstat -s -S m
1057 m total memory
521 m used memory
281 m active memory
[b]201 m inactive memory[/b]
536 m free memory
122 m buffer memory
282 m swap cache
2006 m total swap
0 m used swap
2006 m free swap
11446 non-nice user cpu ticks
9263 nice user cpu ticks
6318 system cpu ticks
2180344 idle cpu ticks
16553 IO-wait cpu ticks
40 IRQ cpu ticks
745 softirq cpu ticks
292003 pages paged in
1707694 pages paged out
0 pages swapped in
0 pages swapped out
11566910 interrupts
1206168 CPU context switches
1162209430 boot time
34036 forks


What is mean of inactive memory ?

Somebody help me to explain me abort inactive memory.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

have a read at this.. http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/free ... 27180.html
see if that answer any of your questions.

Quote:
Somebody help me to explain me abort inactive memory.

.....what?
  • vijayan
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • vijayan
  • Posts: 52
  • Loc: india

Post 3+ Months Ago

hi Anarch,

ok .. i saw page which you give link url.
but in my linux machine inactive memory is level of active memory why.
So i can reduce that with any command or any other package.

Thanks for reply

Vijayan
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

what do you mean by "level of active memory" ? is it possible you're using the same amount of memory as the amount that you're not using? or do you mean that the amount of inactive memory equals your total amount of memory?
  • vijayan
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • vijayan
  • Posts: 52
  • Loc: india

Post 3+ Months Ago

hello

NO that means
I am having my own Proxy server in that 1 GB ram is there.
If my linux machice memmory is using 500mb then in that 200MB.
That is my question.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

that's not a question..thats a poorly formed statement. lol and 500 + 200 doesn't = 1024. is that your point? are you asking whats going on with the 324?
  • Janrocks
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 165
  • Loc: between

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think I understand now? The inactive memory has been allocated to certain processes which though they have reserved it are not currently using it.
Possibly some process that uses a ram-disk setup?
  • vijayan
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • vijayan
  • Posts: 52
  • Loc: india

Post 3+ Months Ago

thanks for both Janrocks & AnarchY SI for explaining inactive memory.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 8 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.