Install Linux on Thinkpad?

• wonderland
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: P.R.China

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, i've got a new thinkpad R60e (T1400solo, RAM upgraded to 1GB, combo drive, GMA950 graphics, 60GB hdd, 1000Mbps LAN, plus a wi-fi to be added on soon)

now, it's has an XP home edition preinstalled (that is to say, without an sys recovery media), and due to some personal interest, i'd like to install a Linux sys on it (without destroying other existing contents),
1) how can i do this,
and 2) which linux should i choose?

any suggestions are welcomed.

PS:
1) i have never used linux before.
2) i don't think i'll use VMware or something like that for it's not so efficient.

3) i use linux mainly for studying software engineering.
Thanks~~
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Most distributions can install on a separate partition and come with a bootloader that will let you boot into either Windows or Linux. Ubuntu is popular distribution at the moment, although I use and prefer Fedora. Both are very easy to install.

wonderland wrote:
now, it's has an XP home edition preinstalled (that is to say, without an sys recovery media),

This seems kind of strange. Manufacturers are required to give you a copy of Windows and/or a recovery CD, otherwise it's not exactly legal.. I'm pretty sure you should have one for a new Thinkpad. Look around in the stuff that came with it.
  • wonderland
  • Beginner
  • Beginner

Post 3+ Months Ago

spork wrote:
This seems kind of strange. Manufacturers are required to give you a copy of Windows and/or a recovery CD, otherwise it's not exactly legal.. I'm pretty sure you should have one for a new Thinkpad. Look around in the stuff that came with it.

actrually, it do seem strange... i've been contacting with lenovo about this issue.....

could anyone tell me the main difference between Ubuntu and Fedora?