Install problem in Fedora core 6(Guru and expert)

  • frezasaga
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • frezasaga
  • Posts: 41

Post 3+ Months Ago

when i install FC6 i follow the step by step

first boot in FC6...............

after the installitions i having problem with the first boot sequence i cant go to the desktop my monitor is paint it black.............i thought its ok then i leave my pc alone when i get back after 1hr nothing happen its just like black screen no desktop...........what is wrong in my installitions..........need your help..i am going crazy..........

if its ok can someone make a step by step procedure how to install the FC6..........
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Either the boot disk is bad or for some reason, it's not loading the video drivers. Did you burn the CD yourself? Is there are video card in the PC or are you using the onboard chipset?
  • frezasaga
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • frezasaga
  • Posts: 41

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes i am using ATII Radeon Video card.............there is no error on my disk its perpeck.............
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Then connect the monitor cable to the onboard chipset. That's the vertical connection. It could be that the drivers on the disk aren't compatible or they just aren't loading.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

do you have any other operating systems installed? if so, what OS?
if you do, you could boot into that to check the logs to see whats happening or whats not happening.
  • frezasaga
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • frezasaga
  • Posts: 41

Post 3+ Months Ago

nope its clean no OS install.............kindly give some step by step or a guide how to install it properly...........
  • SpooF
  • ٩๏̯͡๏۶
  • Bronze Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 3422
  • Loc: Richland, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
Then connect the monitor cable to the onboard chipset.


I have a feeling that the installation worked. But like Don2007 said FC6 does not support your current video card. So if you plug your monitor into the onboard and remove the ATI card it should work fine.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

i really wouldn't think it would be the video card that's the problem...i've NEVER had a problem with any of my ATI cards working with fedora on default installs. and i've been doing it since FC3 and an ATI Radeon 9600.

i have a question for the OP... what happens if you try to boot fedora, and once you get that black screen try pressing CTRL+ALT+F1
does it bring you to a command line?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

If it does, what is he going to do when he gets there?
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

login and open up his xorg.conf file to see what driver the x server is trying to use for his video card.

which to do so, he would login with the root user and use the password he provided during the installation process, then enter the command:
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
go to down the video card subsection and post what it says for the driver.
press ctrl+x to exit

if it says nano can't be found,

vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
find the same subsection and post what it says for the driver.
press shift+q, q <enter> to exit
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

X server? Wasn't the original problem the basic install? I just looked at the original post again. Now I'm not sure what the problem is. I would have given a totally different answer if I had thought it was an X windows problem.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

well the x server is installed with the original stall. as is gnome/kde.

you should find a hard drive laying around or something and give FC6 a test install, along with some other linux distros like suse and ubuntu. i think it would be quite different from what you've experienced with FBSD... shoot, you could even give PC-BSD an install :] lol
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You're right about the FreeBSD differences. As I just said in another post, I have to start asking clarification questions if the OP wasn't clear.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

lol yea, pretty much..it'd be nice if the OP stated their distro when asking a question as a file may be in many different places depending on what they're using but.. *shrug* what can you do. lol
  • frezasaga
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • frezasaga
  • Posts: 41

Post 3+ Months Ago

my cd is not a distro i download it at redhat.fedora............
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_distribution
According to the 3rd paragraph, Fedora Core is a distribution.
  • alias8700
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • alias8700
  • Posts: 43

Post 3+ Months Ago

LOL
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

and its fedora.redhat lol which is going away too, to fedorawiki.

did you try the suggestion i posted?
  • LinuxSA
  • Born
  • Born
  • LinuxSA
  • Posts: 1
  • Loc: South Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi Guys
I am also a linux newbie and I am having the same problem.
I specifically went a purchased a new computer cause I thought that it was time that I started to learn Linux.
I purhcased the lastest copy of Linux User which had a DVD with Red Hat Fedora Core 6 on it.
I loaded everything, and I get a command prompt for my login and password.
However,the problem that I have having is when I try to start the GUI with startx I get a blank screen.
I pressed CRTL + ALT + F1 and I get a error message with "Screen 0 is not DRI capable"

I am using the onboard graphics that came with the motheboard that I got, which is a Jetway P4M9MP with a P4 3.2 GHZ CPU.

Any tips ? Advice ?
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2521
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

by, "i loaded everything", you mean you installed it?
were you trying to install xgl or aiglx?
in any case..

login at the command line as root.
enter: nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
append this to the end of the file:

Code: [ Select ]
Section "Extensions"
   Option "Composite" "False"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
    Group    0
    Mode     0666
EndSection
  1. Section "Extensions"
  2.    Option "Composite" "False"
  3. EndSection
  4. Section "DRI"
  5.     Group    0
  6.     Mode     0666
  7. EndSection


then press this key sequence:
ctrl+x
y
[Enter] <-- press the enter key

now try startx.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 20 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 76 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.