Installation Gentoo

• ilyawizard
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • ilyawizard

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, I just started installation of Gentoo. I load up as gentoo kernel, and as Docs say I am supposed to partition my HDD by using fdisk /dev/hda. But it gives me an error "Unable to open /dev/hda". I know I have an IDE disk, so what seems to be a problem. Any ideas? I'm new to Linux.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Maedhros
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Durham, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

You're on an amd64? In that case modprobe ide-disk. This one has bitten many many people so far - I don't quite know why it isn't in the technotes.
  • ilyawizard
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • ilyawizard

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks a lot! It worked fine. Now question: There are 3 different stages to extract. Do I need to extract all 3 of them or just 1 would bw fine?
  • Maedhros
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

No, only extract one of them.
  • Jazzy
  • Student
  • Student
  • Jazzy
  • Loc: Brussels

Post 3+ Months Ago

the stages are thereso that you can chhose at wich point you wxant to start your compilation of the OS

1- from scratch, means building the kernel as well
2- precompiled kernel, and the rest for your machine
3- precompiled kernel and soft packages for a more standard and faster install

have fun ! ;D
  • Maedhros
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

No, it doesn't... :wink: At the end of each stage, you move onto the next one, so if you start at a stage 3, you only need to compile the kernel, etc. You only need to extract the tarball once, because by the time you've finished bootstrapping, your system is equivalent to a stage 2 tarball, and by the time you've finished emerge system, you system is equivalent to a stage 3 tarball.

Stage 1) Compile everything. That means gcc, glibc, binutils, all the really low-level stuff that you need for other things to compile.