Installing drivers & compiling...

• DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi

Complete Linux novice here. Installed Suse a few days ago. Loving it but frustrated at my n00bness.

I've installed it on my laptop & supprised myself by getting it to duel boot with Windows (still need windows for my job) but i'm now trying to sort out missing drivers etc.

Problem is I have absolutely no idea how to go about doing this! I'm browsing various Linux Beginners sites but no luck so far (gonna be working on this for the next couple of hours if I don't get too pissed off!)

I'm mainly trying to get the wireless card working. To compound matters it seems there is no 'proper' Linux driver for my chipset (its a Compaq nx9105 laptop which seems to have a Broadcom BCM94306 chipset) so doing the research it looks like I have to install something called 'NDISWrapper' then use a windows driver that works. I've downloaded both of these to my /home/username/documents/ dir from the NDISWrapper site, but have no idea where to go from here.

The instructions say I have to compile it!!! Coming from Windows (where the hardest thing I have to do is unzip it) this all sounds vewy scaaawy! :lol:

Second thing i'm gonna have to do is try and sort the resolution. Its a widescreen laptop so currently Linux is in a box in the center of the screen. I think its running at 1025x768 when it needs to be like 1200x800 or something. But not too bothered about that yet.

Thanks in advance & sorry for long posts. I can't get the hang of not babbling on insessently!

S

P.S. Excuse any typos - the spellcheck doesn't seem to work under this Linux browser (Konqueror)
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

ok now I broke it :lol: