i am a linux dummy please help

• redclaw
  • Born
  • Born
  • redclaw

Post 3+ Months Ago

hi i hv been trying to install mandrake linux 9.1 via virtual pc on a winxp system. i hv been given 3 installation cds from my friend but all it takes is just 1 cd so what is the other 2 cds for? and when i start the linux and i was being asked for login and password but after that i was being logged into text environment instead of the xwindow. what is happening here? sorry i am completely new to linux.

• Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ShEDeViL
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

That's weird... It should have used all 3 cds. Everytime I installed mandrake it used all 3 cds.

As for why x won't start, have you tried looking at your XF86Config-4 file? My guess is that you don't have your display set up correctly. Have you installed the current drivers for your video card? What kind of video card do you have?
  • redclaw
  • Born
  • Born
  • redclaw

Post 3+ Months Ago

no i don't know how to check the xf86config-4 file. u r right my gfx is not configured properly as during setup this linux does not have the correct driver i think. i m using ati radeon 7000.
  • ShEDeViL
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

To look at the config file, you do a "less /etc/X11/XF86Config-4". To edit the file you do a "vi /etc/X11/XF86Config-4". If you don't know how to use vi, I suggest doing a google search for "vi tutorial" or "vi quick reference" to get a list of the commands.

To get the drivers, do a google search for "Radeon 7000 Linux Drivers" and download the drivers to your computer.

The drivers should come with some sort of instillation instructions or readme file to walk you through the instillation. They should tell you both the commands to install the drivers "rpm ..." and then tell you which lines to edit in your XF86Config-4 file, if any edits are necessary.