Linux for a gamer?

• DoxEAF
  • Born
  • Born
  • DoxEAF

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi All,

I'm new to linux but not windows so please bear with me.

Im primarily a gamer and I hear so many people talk about performance gains by using linux as the operating system. Until now I have been on the theory that if linux was so good for gaming why don't more developers' support linux?

Anyway I have had a read around and downloaded the latest version of Ubuntu (8.10) and WINE to use for the emulator for my windows based games. Namely that those on STEAM such as UT3 and CS and also for IL2 Sturmovik that doesn't use STEAM.

I have a Intel Quad Core processor, 4GB RAM and 4780 capable of DX10. I want to take advantage of all the benefits of the hardware, I currently use XP32bit so that doesn't use the quad core 'efficiently' nor does it use a full 4GB RAM only (3.2GB) nor can I run DX10 on XP except by using a hotfix that doesn't work on my system.

In your opinions what is the better OS to use for max performance gains?

I have the Windows 7 Beta, Linux or WinVista64 Ultimate to choose from. I don't mind* using Linux as long as it can use the hardware to its maximum.

Thanks for any comments and I look forward to your views.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't see Linux as an OS for gamers at all. I think any Windows is better for that.
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

If most of your games are for Windows, then run them on Windows. DirectX is a Microsoft product and you'll be going through more trouble than it's worth trying to get everything to run on a Linux machine.

If you plan to take advantage of your graphics card's DX10 capabilities, you'll need to be using Vista or Windows 7. XP doesn't support DX10.
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote: