I'm looking for an experienced Ubuntu/Debian packager

• joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've got this opensource project hosted at Google Code called Picksel. It's basicly a color picker. It's a simple little project and for the most part it will stay small and simple.

Right now it's just C source code using Glade UI files with a jerry-rigged Makefile. I'd like to produce a *.deb package in multiple languages eventually, but I'm a little overwhelmed with packaging and how it works. In all honesty I'm still learning how to program with C.

Now, apparently I've caught a few peoples' attention with the project. To my surprize it's been getting a few visits comming from TechCrunch, delicious, various blogs, and recently Wikipedia. I can't seem to find the pages with links on some of these sites & Google Analytics referer data is all I have to go on, so I'm assuming it's being passed around in the back offices between employees.

Anyway, I'd like to find someone experienced with packaging for Ubuntu, maybe even Debian, to join the project as the designated package manager.
The first thing that would need to be done is pointing me in the right direction for getting the project ready to be packaged. After that it would boil down to creating *.deb packages to add to the Download tab of the project page, and possibly getting something going in the Ubuntu repository. That stuff is all new to me though.

It's hosted at Google Code, and projects there use Subversion. I plan on keeping it that way, so you'll need experience with SVN.
You will also need a Gmail account to join the project I believe, I'm not sure about that though. If you want access to the Analytics data you will need a Gmail account for me to add to the site profile, that much I do know.
If you've got a blog, we can go ahead and add that to the project pages blogs section if you'ld like too.