Need Help for installing redhat linux rpms for kdevelop....

• skytee
  • Born
  • Born
  • skytee

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am totally new to linux and just installed redhat linux 9. I was looking for an ide for C/C++ and found Kdevelop... However, I really don't know how to install it. I downloaded the
'kdevelop-2.1.5_for_KDE_3.1.tar.bz2' and don't know how to install... i tried using the add/remove programs to install the kde development tools, but linux said it needs kdelibs and kdebase and wat not.. anybody can help me? Thanks a million![/i]
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

i'm not sure but... "rpm kdevelop-2.1.5_for_KDE_3.1" or something like that.

use the rpm searcher to find the right name, of course redhat might not even have any of that, I know mandrake uses urpmi....
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am not sure what the bz2 extension is. Usually when I download something in Linux I will get something with a .tar.gz ending and I would issue the following commands from the command console to unpack and untar it:

gunzip something.tar.gz
tar -xvf something.tar

and that would place the unpacked and untarred files into a directory called "something" (usually).

At that point you would go inside that directory and read the INSTALL file.

There might be a different command you need to issue to unpack the tar file out of the .bz2
  • b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

well you can't always be right ;)
  • sciwhiz007
  • Born
  • Born
  • sciwhiz007

Post 3+ Months Ago