NetBSD installation problem

• narroweyes
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Here

Post 3+ Months Ago

I recently downloaded an iso for NetBSD 3.0 and burned it to a cd. I restarted the computer and booted from the cd like I am supposed to. The setup menu eventually came up and I went through the steps. When I got to the part where it asks for a source medium to install the kernel and distribution sets, I chose CD-ROM. After selecting my CDROM device and selecting continue, I get several(pages) of these type of errors:

tar: header checksum 'A' does not match 'B'

The percentage bar does go part of the way through on most, but still doesn't finish.

I tried redownloading and reburning the iso's, but same thing happened.
I even tried the NetBSD 2.1 iso

So anyway, after all that overhead, my simple question is: "What is going on and how do I fix it?"

I am new to this "NetBSD" thing and would like to know how much I like it besides what I read Razz

Thanks a lot in advance for any help you can give me,
Laters,
Zane
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

This bug;
http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.os.net ... bugs/10743

may still exist. Either that, or your burn process is flawed.

Perhaps, just to be certain, grab a FreeBSD iso and try to install that.

Cheers.
  • narroweyes
  • Beginner
  • Beginner

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for the input. I tried the freebsd installation and all went well until it started to write data to the disk. I am guessing a hard drive problem. I will try to find another one around here to test it one, but I don't think I have one right now. If you have any other thoughts with the new found information, then let me know.

The first sign of error was:
"Write failure on transfer! (wrote -1 bytes of 1425400)"

Thanks a lot for your time and consideration,
Zane
  • narroweyes
  • Beginner
  • Beginner