Problems w/ Redhat 8 installation!!!

• claire218
  • Born
  • Born
  • claire218

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this. I'm trying to install Redhat 8 on my Toshiba laptop. I was able to select to boot from my CD Rom, but it only went as far as " Uncompressing linux...ok. booting kernel.." then it hangs. What can I do?

Any reply will be greatly appreciated.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• mindcry
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • mindcry

Post 3+ Months Ago

Why are you using redhat 8? That is probably the worst version redhat ever made. Since redhat only has its "enterprise" versions now you may want to check out fedora which is a spinoff of redhat and maintained by redhat. Its basically the testing grounds for redhat. You can find more info here http://fedora.redhat.com/. I personally prefer debian you can check that out here http://debian.org, make sure to get the sarge installer.[/code]
  • claire218
  • Born
  • Born
  • claire218

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm using Redhat 8 for class. It came with my text.
  • d3fac3
  • Loc: Malaysia

Post 3+ Months Ago

There is difinately something wrong with your either ram or graphic card configuration. Trust Me. You may seems there is not even related to booting up linux by cdrom but YES! there is a connection. Try to check your graphic card driver or used a rubber to rub the connection part for ur ram. It gonna works.
If it still doesn't, then i guess u should get Linux Fedora =)
  • Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

I may not have the very answer you require, however I can tell you it has NOTHING to do with your graphic card. Also, if your machine goes through POST, it's not your memory either.

You don't mention which Toshiba you have, but regardless one of the first things you should check is for BIOS updates. (The Toshiba Website has a decent enough interface to help guide you through the process;