questions about linux and networking.

• Dalkus
  • Born
  • Born
  • Dalkus
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi, this is my first post on these forums and i like what ive seen so far, seems to be a friendly comunity.

I have just got into linux, my brother gave me an old machene with linux allready installed on it with the GNOME GUI. I have got pretty used to the terminal commands but i have a question about networking.

If i put the linux machene on the network (all the other machenes have windows installed) will i be able to copy files accross from a windows machene to a linux one? or will i not be able to access it at all?

thanks! As i said, im new to linux and i look forward to learning more with the help of these forums!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• musik
  • Legend
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: up a tree

Post 3+ Months Ago

i know nothing of linux, we have a couple of linux servers here at work but I am clueless! sorry cant help! :D
  • Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

Dalkus wrote:
If i put the linux machene on the network (all the other machenes have windows installed) will i be able to copy files accross from a windows machene to a linux one? or will i not be able to access it at all?

Yes absolutely, you will have access. You can transfer files using the ftp on your network. It doesn't matter what operating systems they are. It is very similiar to how I am on a Windows computer right now, yet all my websites are on a Linux server which I upload to on the WWW. It is still a network just much bigger than a LAN.
  • ModernDestroyer
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: California

Post 3+ Months Ago