Rate Ubuntu

• mandar-seo
  • mandar-seo
  • Loc: Pune, Maharashtra, India

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have yesterday looked for the Ubuntu and ordered thefree ShipIt Ubuntu CD. I wanted to know how is the Ubuntu as OS in terms of software support? I am very new to Linux and just thought of trying it few days back.

With regards,
Mandar Thosar
  • this213
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: ./

Post 3+ Months Ago

Personally I much prefer Fedora Core to Ubuntu, but to each their own.

Ubuntu supports all of the same software as any other Linux distribution. If you're looking at running Windows applications, you might want to think again. While there are Windows emulators that will allow you to run Windows software, they're usually not as smooth as you would expect. Best to stick with the thousands upon thousands of Linux packages available.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

My preferences go along with this123.
If you have an ATI video card, you're definitely going to want to think again about ubuntu. For some reason, everything just seems to go haywire when you try booting ubuntu with said hardware.
  • Bgnn32
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Bgnn32
  • Loc: Western Mass

Post 3+ Months Ago

I use Ubuntu with no complaints.
  • dyefade
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've used Ubuntu for nearly two years (the distro itself isn't much older than that), and have been using it next to exclusively for over a year (after my last Windows lappy was stolen - which I simply didn't replace.) At the time (and I understand even today), it is/was one of the premier Linux distributions. I will say though, that FC6 looks great. I have a DVD sitting here ready to install, but having not reinstalled anything from scratch for a year or so, I'm waiting until I can be bothered with it.

Ben.
  • dyefade
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago