Is Red Hat9 good for me?

• Sambie
  • Sambie

Post 3+ Months Ago

I admit that I have never programmed anything before, only couple of very easy VB tiny programs, which anybody could use. I never really got too far into VB or any other programs. I am curious will Red Hat9 Linux will be good for me if i want to use it for personal? I have windows XP pro installed on my computer at the moment but i want to try something new, more stable then Microsoft. I do know some DOS.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

You don't need to know how to code to use Linux, just as you don't need to know how to code to use Windows.

Whether it'll be any good for you or not, you'll just have to install it and check it out :)

DOS (as in Micro$oft DOS) and the Linux shell prompt are not the same thing. They are completely different operating systems and the only advantage knowing M$-DOS will have is that your eyes will be used to looking at a text-based screen. Other than that, the only other similarity betwene M$-DOS and a Linux shell is that they both use 'cd' to change directory ;)

Linux isn't for everybody, Windows isn't for everybody, it's just a personal preference and it all depends on what you need to do with it - same as buying a car. A Lamborghini isn't for everybody, even if they can afford it, but plenty of people drive 'em :)
  • Sambie
  • Sambie

Post 3+ Months Ago