is redhat9 still free?

• Lincoln
  • Born
  • Born
  • Lincoln

Post 3+ Months Ago

just want to say hi to everyone...and have one quick question..

is redhat9 still free? if so can someone give me a direct link to the dl because i cant find it anywhere and ive been searching for 2 hrs now...

thx and cya around

btw..im brand new to linux and want to give it a try :)
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

//Move to Linux forum
  • Carnix
  • Guru
  • Guru

Post 3+ Months Ago

Red Hat has announced the End Of Life for their free product. I consider it a dark day... You can probably find the ISO out there somewhere, if you want them, but Red Hat doesn't give support for free any more so you won't get patches or updates. I would suggest looking into any number of other distrubutions... Sourceforge might be a good place to start.
.c
  • DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://www.linuxiso.org/

:D

S
  • Talos
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Colorado Springs

Post 3+ Months Ago

Actually if I understand it correctly redhat is no longer free but they have 2 versions out there. They have combined with fedora and that is their free version and can be downloaded from their web site. If you buy the redhat version you do get updates and support but you dont have to go that way. You can download fedora for free still. I myself use suse linux and personally like it much better but the god thing about linux we all have our favorite flavor.
  • rtm223
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Uk

Post 3+ Months Ago

you can still get the rh9 iso from the red hat website by anonymous ftp. I do not know if this is an oversight on their part or if they still do distribute for free but don't support anymore. I ftp'd it a couple of months ago.

You have to hunt around a bit but it is there and there are links to it.
  • Daemonguy
  • Web Master