relatively new to Linux and need help w/ ethernet driver

• magnumPI
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • magnumPI
  • Loc: Inside my Head

Post 3+ Months Ago

hello i just installed Fedora Core 1 (kernel 2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp) onto an Intel Xeon desktop. my problem is that this distro of linux did not install the driver for the ethernet card. i did an 'lspci' and saw that linux recognized the card as an 'unknown device.' The ethernet card came with the Dell Xeon desktop (Intel (R) PRO/100 VE Network connection).

the kind of help that ive recieved is as follows:
-build and run tulip: i have no idea how to build it

-download the driver: can download it without the card actually working, and even then i wouldn't know how to install it.

Since i am relatively new to linux, i was wondering if there's anyone out there who had the same problem, and can help me out.=) Thanks!

--MAGNUMPI
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

to build the driver you need to download and extract the files (theres a 99.99% chance they will be archived in some file type such as .tar.gz or .tar.bz2, but may be .zip or .rar). but it all depends on what comes out of the package. it may be precompiled and then have a script to install it, however unlikely, but to build after you extract the files it should create a folder. inside this folder, you should find a file called "configure" or "make". if there is a file called "configure", open a terminal, navigate to the folder (i.e. cd /home/bob/download/directory/extracted_folder ) and then enter
Code: [ Select ]
./configure

a bunch of stuff should happens, hope to death you get no errors. if no errors, go on. if you do get errors, try to resolve them :)

make

again, a bunch of stuff will happen and you are still hoping you get no errors.

su