Remove Fedora?

• midgetsy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm pretty new to Linux. I just installed Fedora 9 on my computer and realized it's too good for it. I want to install Debian instead. How do I remove Fedora?

-Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago

Just boot to the debian install disc and run it's installer, it should ask you if you want to overwrite existing linux partitions, tell it yes.

Just curious, whats wrong with your fedora? Fedora these days is really user friendly, a lot more than the old days like with fedora core 4 or 5.
  • midgetsy
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

thanks kc0tma. i have debian now! :)

My fedora just seems to be real slow on my computer. It's a 533mhz Pentium 3 with 256mb ram and about a 10gb hard drive. From what I've read, debian and slackware are better for my computer. What's your take on it?
  • kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

I think that with that hardware set up you've got you'll find that most modern operating systems might lag a little. Fedora has a pretty fast release cycle so they stay on top of the latest greatest hardware, whereas something like slackware builds something good then keeps it until its outdated. The nice thing is that an out-of-the-box linux distro should run on *almost* any system that anyone might have around. If it doesn't work right away then the open source nature allows it to be configured and customized to work. In fact, that might be a fun project for you once you get to be real familiar and comfortable with nix; take a bone stock fedora release and chop it up and modify it to be optimized for that hardware configuration you have. Don't do that yet though, jumping into linux too fast is a good way to get frustrated and go back to the dreaded evil windows. Thats sad when people do that. :(
  • AnarchY SI