Solaris vs PCBSD ?

• chobstix
  • Born
  • Born
  • chobstix

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi, I'm new to the whole Unix/Linux, and I'm trying to learn more about them. I'm starting with Unix, and I've seen 2 different versions, Solaris & PC BSD, which one is better ? .. or should I ask, which one is friendlier for newbie ? Thanks guys
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

I like PC-BSD. its pretty nice, and based on FreeBSD.
i tried installing Solaris twice, and it took like a half hour for the first disk of the installer to load, and then wanted the second disk. i think. and it was just taking forever so i said screw it. so i haven't actually "tried" it yet, but i'm not impressed so far..
  • this213
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: ./

Post 3+ Months Ago

I like Solaris more, but then you did say "for a newbie", didn't you? I think PC BSD is going to be your best bet given the two options.

If you're setting out to learn as much about *nix as you can, I have a very easy (to remember) 2-step program for you:

1. Install Slackware and all of the components you need for a fully functional desktop (X, gnome, rhythmbox, whatever).

2. Build an LFS system (http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/) from your Slackware installation.

Before you do this, be prepared to do a lot of reading and spend some (lots of) time with it.
  • frezasaga
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • frezasaga

Post 3+ Months Ago

but how about the kubuntu 6 and susi 10.........which one is good..........i installed kubuntu 6 it much coller it look like mac and also susi 10 grahpix are so cool too..... so which one is the best among the two........
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

asking which is better between kubuntu and suse is like asking whats better, pizza or taco's.
it depends on the person.