Sudo

• SpooF
  • ٩๏̯͡๏۶
  • Bronze Member
  • Loc: Richland, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've been reading around and alot of people seem to believe that using sudo introduces bad practive when running linux, whats your opinion?

I'm a novice when it comes to linux, over the years I've played around with it and I have really only touched two distributors, Ubuntu and Fedora Core. I've installed CentOS once but never went back to it.

I tried running linux on my main machine but I couldnt get away from my favorite IDE, PHP Designer by MPSOFTWARE. (I still have it on my HDD but after installing windows I lost Grubs, so I will have to reinstall grubs sometime.)

I'm currently looking at setting up a small machine to run a server release of linux from some distributor, been leaning towards Ubuntu just because I have the most practice with it.

However, before I do it I would like to know your option on Sudo.
  • kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago

Sudo is handy because if you log in as root, it is easy to screw something up pretty bad.

But on the other hand, one of our red hat servers at work has an application for payroll stuff, and the people basically telnet to the server to run it. If they found out about sudo, they could execute commands we don't want them to do.

So in my own opinion, I don't particularly like sudo. I tolerate it because o my mac os x, but if I had a choice I would stay away from it.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

sudo is handy if the only person accessing the server (/computer) is you. it's not connected to the internet, its not serving a company, etc. but if your server is connected to the internet and a regular user account gets hacked because it has a weak password and that account is part of the sudoers group, your server is effed =[
you CAN disallow sudo'ing in ubuntu, however, if you still wanted to use that OS..
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles