Thinking about switching to linux

• mindfullsilence
  • Professor
  • Professor

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have absolutely NO experience with linux. Never even been around a comp that runs linux. However, an entire operating system complete with GUI for FREE has got me interested in freeBSD. I have a few questions though.

1. I'm a graphic designer and a web developer and am VERY partial to adobe products, will I be able to run the adobe suit on linux and still have full functionality?
  2. I like my games, I have a lot of them on Steam. Will they work on Linux?
  3. This command line stuff scares me, how often will I need to use it for personal computing needs?
  4. Is freeBSD the right choice? Or are there other suggestions you'd like to offer that are as cost-effective?
  5. The biggest problem right now is that I have xp, only able to use 3.5GB RAM. I don't want to spend THAT MUCH money on Win7 to run 64 bit to have more RAM. Is linux capable of 64bit processing, and therefor more RAM (I have 8GB DDR2 laying around waiting)?
  6. I have a couple pieces of hardware that I'm worried about drivers for. Webcam, wireless adapter, external HDD. Will these work on linux?
  7. My school runs MAC and I have to send in zip files of my schoolwork for my online courses. Can linux create the .zip extension?
  8. In relation to the previous question, is openOffice my only choice for the Office suite? Is it compatible with MS Office?(that's what the school runs)

I really want as much information as possible, if you're up for it please answer these questions as though you were talking to a 2 year old (I'm obviously a noob at linux).
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago