A total Linux Rookie

• ikke
  • Born
  • Born
  • ikke
  • Loc: Belgium

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi I am a 2 day newbee with Linux. I installed Fedora Core 3 on an Armada E500 and everything works great.
But I m having troubles installing and executing some files/ programs. Some installers work, others dont.
For example, I downloaded the Flash plugin on my desktop. Opened the Terminal and dragged the "Install" (from in that flash plugin folder) on the terminal, hitted ENTER and the Terminal started installing the Flash plugin with succes.

But Im having the biggest problems installing Xfree and other drivers like Jack..
On the Xfree website it says, download the Xinstall.sh, run it and let it check to see wich xfree version I need on my system. But whatever I do, I cant run the Xinstall.sh. If I drag it to my Terminal, it says: Permission denied and other stuff..

I am logged in as root.

So any help would be appreciated.

I am a total Linux rookie. I have no knowledge of scripts. I do know a little about html and actionscript. As well as shell scripting in Alias Maya. (I think its a bit like Mayas script, no?)
Anyway, thanks for the help. 8)
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ikke
  • Born
  • Born
  • ikke

Post 3+ Months Ago

also.. I ve read that when im in a certain folder and open the Terminal and type

./configure

it should configure the configure file in that opened folder... but it doesnt.. I gives me an error saying: file not found (or something like that)
  • Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't think core 3 uses XFree86 as the x-window system; I think they migrated to xorg.

If you already have a gui environment running, why are you even trying to install another one? I realize there's a language barrier here, but I am having some measure of difficulty understanding your problem.