Ubuntu 7.1 Noob - WIFI stopped working after update

• ShoDaymus
  • Born
  • Born
  • ShoDaymus

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm completely new to Linux, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

I run Ubuntu 7.1 and successfully had my wireless working after my install. A short time later after I did an update, I can no longer connect to any networks. My list of available networks displays everything ok, but I can't connect to any of them.

My network card is a Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG

I was reading up on the NDISWrapper, could that work?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• kc0tma
  • o|||||||o
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Trout Creek, MT

Post 3+ Months Ago

As far as I know, ndis wrapper is so that you can use a windows driver on the linux machine. But since you can see the list of available networks, that means that the driver you have is working correctly, so it must be something else.
  • SpooF
  • ٩๏̯͡๏۶
  • Bronze Member
  • Loc: Richland, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I dont have a copy of Ubuntu install on any of my machines right now but, if you go up and click on the network and go to the bottom where it says something on the lines of Manage my Connections and select it. This should bring up a window, try connecting through that. I had some problems with Ubuntu from the drop down list because it wouldnt prompt me for a wep key.
  • ShoDaymus
  • Born
  • Born
  • ShoDaymus

Post 3+ Months Ago

I checked that out and tried manually connecting but still nothing. Im going to try updating the ipw2200 driver again.
  • ShoDaymus
  • Born
  • Born
  • ShoDaymus

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well no, I guess that wouldnt work. If the connections show ten the driver is good like what kc0tma mentioned. I have a PCMCIA card I might try
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago