Weird Ubuntu Problem

• Jason1985
  • Jason1985

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey, I am a beginner to Linux, I am fairly skilled @ working with a computer... I know their is a difference in Linux and windows of course and with my job I have to know both.. So, I downloaded Ubuntu and the GUI install would not install the Operating System. I am using ext3. So, I used the text installer to install the program and got it to install Ubuntu, and proceeded in getting my XP to dual boot with it using the Grub boot loader.. Okay, I got logged into Linux, and the 1st thing I noticed is the desktop to Ubuntu is slightly larger than my monitor.. For example, I can move my mouse towards the top of the screen to see the top grey bar, and then move my mouse to the bottom of the screen to see the bottom grey bar.. I am not sure of the technical term for them but they would be the equivalent to the start bar in windows... I could still work everything in Ubuntu and even installed some applications like beryl, and wine... even got it browsing my mp3 collection on my NTFS partition.. But my issue with the screen is still there.. Ubuntu loads fine just the desktop is too big, I even got the cube working... So, I found the drivers to my graphics card and that did not fix it.. So, I tried changing the resolution to my box and the OS crashed..

I have a amd 3800 x2
1 gig ddr 333mghz pc2700 ram
1 Geforce 7300 gfx card

Any suggestions?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't use Ubuntu but I believe it has something to do with the
XF86Config file.
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

lol silly don. only unix uses x86 ;] pretty much every distro of linux is on X11.