WHAT DO THESE MEAN

• jumenwoke
  • jumenwoke

Post 3+ Months Ago

[b] I am new to Linux actually now learning it as a Student. Can someone help me with the meaning of these : ext 2, ext 3, NFS, NIS, and RPM also, what Protocols does Linux support?

Your urgent reply will very much be appreciated.

John
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• d3fac3
  • Loc: Malaysia

Post 3+ Months Ago

a. SMB (Windows networking)
b. IPX/SPX (Novell networking)
c. Appletalk (Apple/Mac networking)
d. X.25 (OSI networking)

You can search which of the protocol does linux support. search while you learn, dude.

There's a lot of type of ex1, ex2, ex3 and so on, which you do u mean ?
  • Daemonguy
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

jumenwoke wrote:
[b] I am new to Linux actually now learning it as a Student. Can someone help me with the meaning of these : ext 2, ext 3, NFS, NIS, and RPM also, what Protocols does Linux support?

John

Oh my.

I highly recommend buying a book or two on Linux, if you intend to pick it up. It's just a bit more difficult in a forum such as this to go over every aspect of an operating system, vs. explaining more minute functions within an already understood sub-system.

In any case, the answers are as follows;
ext2, ext3, NFS are different 'file systems'.
ext2 and 3 are the 2nd and 3rd extended filesystem, both created to address certain in adequacies with what at the time was the standard or ext filesystem. This included expanding the capacity for fileset sizes as well as file sizes. I believe support for larger filenames was also incorporated. Ext3 is really a journaling extension to the standard ext2 filesystem. (A method developed with the intention of being able to bring back a system much more quickly and cleanly; recovery improvement .)