what would u recmoned, microsoft 2003 server or redhat9

• BlueHat
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Loc: Cyprus

Post 3+ Months Ago

i am going to install a server and i need to know what to use?
what would u recommend, microsoft 2003 server or redhat9
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

10000% depends on what you want the purpose of the server is....
  • BlueHat
  • Banned
  • Banned

Post 3+ Months Ago

since i have no experience yet, lets put it this way?

i know its a bit general but i will ask...

when would u use linux?

and when would u use windows server?

i have asked this way, so i will be able to find out what is suitable for me??? :lol:
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, what do you want to do with it?

What I would want to use it for doesn't affect you :)
  • BlueHat
  • Banned
  • Banned

Post 3+ Months Ago

I see, i will share my internet, control my email, and create share folders for me clients.

i am creating a web for my self now, soon am going to finish it, so it will be on my server too.(very simple web)

simply, my target is too learn how to configure a server, its my first time, that way i am not sure from what i want???
simply i have to start something as a beginning??
  • rjmthezonenet
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

It seems like you want to learn, and you have no official budget. Go with free software: Linux, or BSD.

Axe is right, it really depends on what you want to do, and how you're capable of doing it. It is a REALLY broad question...
  • PCHost
  • Born
  • Born
  • PCHost

Post 3+ Months Ago

You should definitely go with RedHat 9. If you are starting out and are not really sure how to set it up, there is a lot of tutorials online. And the best thing about RedHat 9 is that it's free.
  • benoitb
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: Washington, DC

Post 3+ Months Ago