Which Flavour of Linux?!

• Nefrit
  • Nefrit

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi Everybody

I'm currently running a 64bit PC. I've installed (and come to depise) Windows XP 64 Bit.

Fortunatley, its now completely fouled up beyond all recognition. When I try and start it, it tells me that a dll is missing (I can't remember exactly which, but thats because I don't care)

Now I could fix this, but instead I've decided I want Linux back on my partition instead. My question is, which distro should I go for?

Ultimately, I'm fairly new to Linux, having not used it extensively since university, so I want something thats easyish to use as a desktop OS, but will still let me use Linux as it was meant to be used (command based). Ease of installation isn't an issue, as I'm fairly competent in that (as you become when you can't remember root password )

I'll probably be using it mostly for software/web page development, office apps and surfing the internet.

The CPU is an AMD Athlon 3000+ 64 bit, and I'd like something that will make the most of the 64 Bit architecture. I've used Redhat and Debian in the past, and want to try something else.

Anything you can recommend?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Nefrit wrote:
I'm currently running a 64bit PC. I've installed (and come to depise) Windows XP 64 Bit.

If you'll allow me to wander off topic for just a moment...

1) Were you running Windows XP 64-bit Edition, or were you running Windows XP Professional x64?

2) What problems were you having, other than the missing DLL?

I just ask because I'm running XP Pro x64 and I've never had a problem with it. 64-bit Edition, on the other hand, is supposed to be buggy as hell, at least from what I've heard.