Which linux distribution should I choose?

• pontypool
  • pontypool

Post 3+ Months Ago

Few people have reccomended fedora 4 , but I have never used linux before so I don't know what to expect let alone which I would prefer, I think redhat aren't supported anymore right? here are all the versions I thinkhttp://www.linuxiso.org/

Do I install my choosen version on the same partition as windows or it's own?
Would be great if I could get a comparison chart and maybe a few suggestions first, too much downloading just to try them all out myself.

#btw what would I download? http://fedora.redhat.com/Download/ #
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

Fedora Core 4 is a good distro. are you just using it as a desktop? or for a server? or workstation? ? you may want to look in to suse, its pretty easy to use and manage thx to yast.
you would install linux to its own partition, so you'd need free space on your hard drive thats not partitioned by windows (as windows will partition with probably NTFS but plausibly FAT32 and linux doesn't use either of these filesystems).
what kind of processor do you have? you wouldn't download the ppc version. if you have an Athlon 64 then you'd download the x86_64 version. otherwise you'll probably need the i386 version. if you dont know what your cpu is go to start, right click on My Computer and go to properties and it will tell you towards the bottom of the window that appears.
  • pontypool
  • pontypool

Post 3+ Months Ago

By a workstation do you mean a home network? There are 2 computers that share files on my home network, sometimes 3 (wirless router connects my laptop) don't know what you mean by a server? like hosting files for people to get? Basically I was just looking into a replacement for windows xp pro.