Which Linux would be best for my plans?

• NRJ
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

First of all I am very new to Linux.

But my plans would be to run it as a security firewall and extra for my other 2 pcs.

I got broadband internet. Not sure which one to connect directly to modem, the linux or router. If i put router first. I will need 3 nic cards for the linux system. Linux and router will run as extra security to internet etc... for my other 2 PCs with Windows on them. The OS on those 2 pcs will be XP, 2000, and 2003 and Vista (multiple boot). It is those 2 PCs i am trying to protect by adding an extra Linux system in front of them.

So what would be the best Linux to do that job? And don't forget I am still a newbie with Linux (well I have tryed a few linux system in the past, but never for security purpose).

Another thing. Both PCs (with windows) will have a shared mail server so they can read/write/receive mail from the same accounts. Would the 3rd pc with Linux on it, be better to handle the mail server?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Janrocks
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: between

Post 3+ Months Ago

You have an amazing choice.. any linux can be made to do the job you want.

There are some specialized rather minimal installations that should save you some time. see for instance..

http://ipcop.org/index.php

http://www.smoothwall.org/

http://www.coyotelinux.com/products.php?Product=coyote

You can ask google your question and get Results 1 - 10 of about 2,230,000 for linux firewall distro.
  • this213
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: ./

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'd go with Gentoo and then follow the IP Masquerade Howto. This will give you a good start on understanding Linux firewalling as well as a halfway decent firewall script to build onto later.
  • X3ndou
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: New Jersey

Post 3+ Months Ago