1st website, need help!

• Shamen74
  • Born
  • Born
  • Shamen74

Post 3+ Months Ago

Greets all!
I'm just starting out on my 1st site, am using Microsoft Office Live and am having issues trying to get it to do what I need it to do. I'm writing an ebook, creating a forum, and providing a "useful links" page. I want to charge $10 for the initial membership fee and $5 after the 1st year every year after. My 1st problem is I can't get the navigation bar off my advertising page! I certainly don't want people to have access to the entire site before purchasing so any idea on how to remove it? :hmm: My next issue would be I have no idea how to create a payment page that takes paypal and/or credit card payments and sends the purchaser a confirmation email with username and password info. and the third issue I have is how do I restrict my site to members only? any/all help would be appreciated, as you can tell, I have ALOT of work to do! :shock:
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

For your issue with regards to Paypal and accepting payments, please read this page:

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?c ... ry-outside

Basically Paypal does the work for you to create the payment page. You would just link to it. In a nutshell once a member pays you would add them to your other system to give them access to your website. Of course all of this could be automated using their IPN (instant payment notification) which scripts could handle, however, I would classify that as advanced work. You may find that hiring a web designer / programmer would be easier for you. However, if you can just do it manually that is something that you can probably achieve yourself if you take the time to read and learn some things.