Best and Quickest way to efficiently learn Dreamweaver 2004?

• boiselifer
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Boise of course. =)

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello All!

This looks like a great site! Just a quick question for you all. I am a graphic designer looking to learn Dreamweaver 2004. I have some website exp, but nothing formal. In other words, I want to learn how to do site design with a professional process. IE-Wireframe 1st, then photoshop, then dreamweaver.

How long does it generally take and any advice on literature etc.? I currently have a Visual Quickstart book for Dreamweaver 2004 and it seems pretty good so far. I know CSS and layers are the big thing right now.

Anyayzzz...any advice would be great!! 8)

yeah.

Tom
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Mas Sehguh
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

Dreamweaver is a tool. A useful tool. The first things to learn in gaining a faculty with Dreamweaver are HTML and CSS, a bit more "formally." Well, not formally, but rather, learn specifically what is and isn't part of the HTML 4 Recommendation. http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/ always has useful information, since it contains the HTML 4 specification itself. I do not suggest reading through it linearly or entirely.

After you learn HTML and CSS, and after you acquaint yourself with the concept of separating semantic markup (HTML) and presentational markup (CSS), you might be interested in information about usability of Web design. That, of course, is not a pre-requisite for Dreamweaver, but it is a pre-requisite for doing a job well.

If you understand HTML and CSS, you will understand most of Dreamweaver, and you will be able to use it efficiently. If you don't understand HTML and CSS well, you will often become baffled by the problems you face. Dreamweaver is a What You See is Not Actually What You'll Get (as opposed to WYSIWYG) editor, since browsers are weird.