Best language for shopping cart.

• Tom the Great
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: B.C., Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

What would be the best language to program a shopping cart. I was going to go into PERL or PHP within the next while, so which one would be better for it. Or something else like ASP or javascript. I am doing a webpage for my mom's friend and since she got ripped off by her last webmaster she doesn't have much money to spend on the site, so she won't be able to buy a shopping cart program. And since I am a good programmer (mainly application, but learn other languages fast) I though I would just write one of my own or at least use some open source shopping cart stuff. I would also need multi browser support. Don't get me wrong, I am not expecting to have a full fledged shopping cart by tomorrow, so I know it will take time.
the site she wants me to redo is http://valleysoaps.com she thinks it's horrible, and the guy who did it just disappeared.
Do you guys have any tips or suggestions for that kind of site, she wants a certain look to it, but she hasn't showed me yet. So what are your guys opinions for a site like that?

Also kind of on the same subject, someone else I know is spending a lot of money on this shopping cart program for her own site, but the company she is buying it from will not talk on the phone, they only want to communicate through e-mail. I forgot to ask what the company was, but do you guys think this is a sure sign of a scam?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Check out OSCommerce (oscommerce.com)
No need to reinvent the wheel. If you were thinking about PHP anyway, they already did it for you. All you need to do is edit and tweak it. And BTW -- with OSCommerce you could have a fullfledged shopping cart by tomorrow if you were interested. Just need php and mySQL supported host.