Can someone talk me out of PNG, please! {New Info}

• CADALYST
  • Born
  • Born
  • CADALYST

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am a novice trying their first hand at a website for a friend, I must say the design is absolutely beautiful, it is cartoony and very colorful, the problem is when I "save on web" GIF format in photoshop, it looks good, tad blotchy but when I save in PNG-24 format it looks absolutely scrumsious!
I have designed this sight for a 800x600 resoultion, in GIF the average file size is 90 kb and takes 4 seconds to download at 256 kbps and the average file size in PNG-24 format is 200 kb and takes 9 seconds to download at 256 kbps.
To be honest I have never heard of the PNG file and have been doing crazy research on using this format for my website (A COMMERCIAL WEBSITE), I would love to stick with the simpler GIF format but it just doesn't give me that oomph like PNG-24 does, e.g. I have no borders on my site and the blue sky and clouds on my site blends with the white background and I have a blurry effect to add depth on my site but the GIF gives me this (just a tad) blotchy, cheapish look that is driving me bonkers.
I will be using NO transparency in PNG-24, so my question is will other browsers have a problem seeing my website?, if so how old/ versions? and if someone wants to talk me out of using PNG-24, tell me how can I clean up my GIF image?
NOTE: When I coverted my GIF format in photoshop to grey scale, it looked absolutely beautiful just as smooth as the PNG-24 format but obviously it wasn't in color. what is going on? please help!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

PNG is an acceptable web format, however at least IE6 has issues displaying PNG24. Not sure about IE7 - haven't tried it yet. And you are right, it is far superior quality.