Compatibility Issues

• cloudbrk
  • Born
  • Born
  • cloudbrk

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am new to CSS and am having some difficulties getting my site viewable in IE6. IE7 works fine and Firefox works good (only a few hiccups with Firefox). I was wondering if someone could take a look at the site and tell me what I might be able to do to fix it.

It appears that a lot of my content just does not show up in IE6 or is shifted down quite a ways on the page.

Here is the site. http://www.huntclubfarm.com

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Nick
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius
  • Loc: South-Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't have IE6 ... I don't care about it anymore, but you can start by validating your code here ...
  • seularts
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: Romania

Post 3+ Months Ago

IE6 is going out the market just update your ir browser to version 7 and that is that:)
  • gonzoka
  • Student
  • Student
  • gonzoka
  • Loc: Bristol, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

I agree with righteous that you need to validate your code - if you're not writing valid code, you've got no right to assume any browser can even understand it! Once its valid, you can then address any issues you have...

As for IE6, its not hard to get code working in it, and dismissing the browser entirely is a fool's thing to do - 1/3 of people are still using it, and many don't have a choice to upgrade (if they're on corporate/ pre windows XP OS's). I'll personally continue supporting ie6 while I have clients that use it.For non-professionals its a personal choice but remember that whoever you show off your work to has a 1/3 chance of thinking you suck!
  • righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius

Post 3+ Months Ago

Only a quarter will think you suck ... source ...
  • gonzoka
  • Student
  • Student
  • gonzoka

Post 3+ Months Ago

Except thats for a single site...