CSS text link hover - setting multiple link colour options

• cerio
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,
I'm new to web development. I've created a site in Dreamweaver XP, in which I used a CSS to make the text links underline only on hover (mouseover) and display and underline in a specified colour.

There are 5 sections in this site, each with their own colour scheme affecting the head graphic, menu table and text. I want the text and underline of linked text in the menu to match each scheme. Is there a way I can set more than one option for links within one CSS? Presently I have created a CSS for each colour scheme to ensure links show and undeline in my chosen colours but having 5 different CSS seems cumbersome and I'm sure I should be able to set more than one link appearance in one CSS. I can't find anything that tells me how, though it may be staring me in the face, as all this is new to me.

Thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius
  • Loc: SC-USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

short of using a scripting language to achieve what you want programatically, you can write unique selectors in one style sheet, instead of a whole new style sheet.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Another approach would be to have your one primary style sheet, but leave out the link elements. Then create a separate "small" style sheet for each link style you want and use the @import url option to call the link styles into the parent style sheet. I think I'd try that, vs having to identify all my anchor links by a specific class. Check style sheet one in this thread to see an example of how @import can be used to include a second style sheet inside a primary one:
http://www.ozzu.com/sutra37155.html#37155

Although digitalMedia's solution works just as well, I would find it easier to do it like above.
  • cerio