ftp file questions

• drumzplaya13
  • drumzplaya13

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello, I am new here, from what Ive seen its a great forum and I cant wait to read more. I just have a few questions for you webmasters out there :)

So I am kind of new to the whole owning a website and I just got my FTP set up. There are files already in my ftp because my hosting company has a login default page on it for me, to login to my web hosting.

The files/folders are as listed below:

folder:cgi-bin
-printenv
-test-cgi

folder:cp
index.html
login.html
-folder:scripts
-alldetails.html
-frames.html
-index.html
-scripts.html
-top.html

folder:images
images in the folder

folder:webalizer
-webalizer.current
-webalizer.hist
-index.html
and some images.

My quetion is, what files/folders can I delete without screwing up my website, or thinking of it, what files/folders shouldnt I delete to keep my website up? and where should I put my index.html in my ftp to make the homepage? Im probably going to put a forum on the main page for now (which is a whole nother dilemma since ive never worked with them before), till I am able to work on my websites main webpage.. So any help anyone can give will be gladly taken in! :D
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius
  • Loc: SC-USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

You shouldn't delete any of these. You could delete "images", but you might want images in your site, so don't.

:)
  • drumzplaya13
  • drumzplaya13

Post 3+ Months Ago

well this is my site...

http://www.voltagegaming.net/

all that is on there is the holding that my hosting put on it, so your saying i cant remove any of the files? cause i do plan on making my own main webpage, so how would i hide that one then or over wright it?
  • celandine
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Belgrade, Serbia

Post 3+ Months Ago