i get html...what next?

• Zelita
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi! Im just getting started as a real web junkie, even have my own little site. I have HTML down fairly well and was wondering what would be of more benefit for me to learn next JavaScript or XHTML. Im also open to any sugestions or random advice people have for me :D because i am bloody clueless :roll:

thanks a bundel
~Zelita
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

I would learn CSS.

XHTML "basically" a standardized, neater, form of HTML. It varies very little from HTML, most of it is just single tags need to be closed like :

Code: [ Select ]
<br />
//instead of
<br>
  1. <br />
  2. //instead of
  3. <br>

And nesting needs to be correct, like:

Code: [ Select ]
<b><u>text</u></b>
//instead of
<b><u>text</b></u>
  1. <b><u>text</u></b>
  2. //instead of
  3. <b><u>text</b></u>

And finally tags need to be in lower case.

So as you can see it isn't really much different, I am sure there are a few things, like header info, that I left out, but if you wanna read up more on it try http://www.w3schools.com (I learned xhtml and CSS from there, great place).

Hope that helps. Are you using a free webpage account?
  • lostinbeta
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah, XHTML is just a stricter form of HTML (also doesn't support as much as HTML since it is strict), so if you understand HTML, XHTML should be a breeze.

JavaScript: If you need to know it, learn it, but with most cases if you won't need to use JS that much, just grab a premade script off of a JS Open Source site, no need in busting you hump over something you will rarely use.