Getting started!

• jeffd
  • jeffd
  • Loc: Strasbourg, France

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello everyone. This is my first post here.

I have an ambitious website project - but, although I'm computer friendly (I've studied a bit of computing at university) I'm an absolute beginner regarding web creation. I'm going to start studying starting next month (in a multimedia master program in France) but I want to start off immediately and invest myself in the project.

Basically, I want to create a community website, with possibilities of creating profiles, forums, private messages, etc.
I'm intent on making this as good a website as possible, and do not want to use amateurish shortcuts. I know I will need time and effort to achieve my goal, but I want to do it the professional way.
What languages and software would one need to master for the creation of such a website?
What would be a good learning process (step by step)?
I know this a very vague newbie question, but once I get feedback I can make my inquiries more interesting. I just want to know where to get started!
Thanks for your help
Jeff
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• SB
  • Genius
  • Loc: Aberdeen, Scotland

Post 3+ Months Ago

You can already use forum software online that will create an online community. I don't know if this is "cutting corners" though. To create a forum similar to what you see here at Ozzu (the white theme, default to start up) takes a considerable amount of time and not for the beginner. However, if you check out the dark theme that Ozzu has this is the sort of forum format you could have just by installing something on your web space providing you have a database as part of the hosting package.