How do you guys test webpages ?

• Scott123
  • Scott123

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am new to website design.
From all the reading I have so far, I have not come across any articles about testing methodology. Is it common that web designers make the change and test locally in Dreamweaver or Expression, then just publish it?
Isn't it safer to have a duplicate site (even with a different domain on different host) to test it out thouroghly before making the change in Live website?
Also, I will be oursourcing some programming tasks to outside programmers, and I don't want them to have access to my Live website. This is to prevent any possibility of messing up production codes by outsiders. What is the best way to go about it? setting up a duplicate test site on another host is the only way that comes to my mind.
I appreciate any helps. 8)
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• graphixboy
  • Control + Z
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: In the Great White North

Post 3+ Months Ago

I always test the full site online in as many browsers as possible. Testing in expression or dw won't give you an accurate picture of how your users will actually see the site. How I do this really depends on the size of the site.

Small sites I usually just create a sub directory on the client's server. For larger sites its typical to have a dev.clientsdomain.com (actual production work), preview.clientsdomain.com (get approval from clients of requested changes), clientsdomain.com (live site everyone sees). In most cases our dev site gets files directly from the cvs repository.
  • righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius
  • Loc: South-Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago