HTML5: Getting Started?

• graphixboy
  • Control + Z
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: In the Great White North

Post 3+ Months Ago

Anyone using HTML5 yet? If so how did you get transitioned over and what pitfalls are you hitting? Obviously browser support sucks but whats new there. Anything else? Any good resources?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• mk27
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

Haven't tried anything but I know webGL works to a decent extent, which is pretty exciting.

The new embedded object stuff will really expand some possibilities in terms of animation and video, I think, but it will take a long time to trickle around.
  • Gofigure
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Gofigure

Post 3+ Months Ago

No i am not using it yet but i am studying it closely looks good and some much needed additions were impplemented so im waiting for browser feedback etc.
  • tastysite
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Brighouse, West Yorkshire, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

the <video> tag looks good it will save me from using youtube for vids that need an interface (since I don't have a clue how to make your on vid UI)
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm waiting for more (or at least some) of the semantics elements to get implemented before I try to do anything with it. <video> and <audio> elements, cool, but they really don't change much though. They're sort of like a heart transplant where Flash is the old heart. Most people aren't going to see a difference.

Some of the Javascript API additions, such as getting elements by classname and an event listener for window.onHashChange are interesting. They're all looking like things that are already implemented with things like jQuery already though.