Huge amount of photo's on a site ???

• General Spin
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Loc: Manchester, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

OK ive had a look through previous posts but the trouble is i dont even know what im looking for so im not getting anywhere.

The point of my site is to teach newbies how to do a certain type of object manipulation. Its a study of the movement involved. Thing is i want to give them a few options of viewing the demonstrated moves as i remember when i was a beginner, looking at a demo, thinking "i wish i could stop it and move it frame by frame."

This would be a godsend to interested newbies believe me.

So... what i want to do is take one of my lesson mpegs, run it through animation shop to filter out identical and unecessary shots. Then turn each photo from the animation into its own jpeg and store them all in a folder which the viewer can then download and view with windows picture and fax viewer or whatever it is.

The question is... :

How do i get a folder of piccys to go on my site as a downloadable file :?: (heh heh, they are great)

Any suggestions about this and better ways of obtaining the photo's from my mpegs would be very very welcome indeed.

Much appreciated.

General Spin.

p.s. on my homepage there is a link to a vid, if you view it you need to refresh to use the site nav afterwards. Mystifys me. Anyone ???
  • RichB
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Boston

Post 3+ Months Ago

You could put the folder into a zip file that your users could download and extract. If you open winzip and drag the folder on the open winzip window it will prompt you for an archive name for the saved file (at least the version 8 I'm using does). It won't compress them very much, but it will give you a single file containing the folder and it's contents.
  • General Spin
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

Much appreciated RichB,