Layer and Tables :S ?

• Nucleo
  • SausagePorkPie
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: UK - England

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi all..

I have made myself a nice little html based website here http://www.nucleo.ashst.com

i used dreamweaver mx to help me out because i am a complete novice..
when i was figuring out how to use it i simply bunged loads of layers on lol, and well, it works but not too well on different browsers. on a different forum i was told to use tables instead.

so here is my question,
when i did use layers i could move whatever i put into the layer when ever i wanted, but with tables i couldn't
so, do i have to put the tables into different layers to get it to work properly on different browsers.

my site looks fine on mine but i had to offset the layers to make then site nicely on my browser. will i still have to offset the content if i put tables into the layers?..

or i am going about this all wrong lol
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Nucleo
  • SausagePorkPie
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

ok
what i said above didn't work.
i sliced my website lovely in fireworks, i sliced it so that all the separate parts had their own table spot (for easier text input) put it into dreamweaver and it worked a charm...

until i had to input text, i click on a bit (table block, with image in) and the image either dissapears or shoots down under the text. How do i put text or images above/on top of other images.

I thought that adding layers would sort this out, but if i do that then i would have to offset everything that i put in the layer to make it sit perfectly on my site. Is there a way to make layers but make them site where ever i put them..